League of Women Voters of New Jersey Welcomes New Leadership


Nancy Hedinger has been elected to serve her third term as president. Also re-elected to the board are vice presidents Susan Sferas and Ann Saunders; treasurer Ellen Kemp; and returning directors Kathy Abbott, Jill Lewis-Spector, Uyen “Winn” Khuong, Timothy Priano, and Katharine Schumacher. These members bring a wealth of experience and knowledge as returning leaders of the nonpartisan organization.

Deborah McComber, a communications consultant for several nonprofits and a member of the steering committee for the NJ Women’s Marches in 2017 and 2018, is the newly elected secretary. Joining her are newly elected directors Jessica Backofen, Jason DeAlessi, Jennifer M. Howard, Iveth Mosquera, Nicole Scott-Harris, Mike Ward, and Patricia D. Williamson. Backofen, currently the Executive Director of JDRF, brings years of fundraising expertise to the League, with specialties in corporate development and executive engagement. DeAlessi is managing director at Fuerza Strategy Group and is skilled at digital and creative production as well as campaign management. Howard is a practicing OB/GYN and Vice President of WW-P Regional School District, a parent advocacy organization with over 25 years of addressing racial disparities and educational achievement gaps in African-American students.  Mosquera, a marketing, public relations, and development professional, also serves on the board of LUPE Fund, an organization dedicated to educating, empowering, and engaging Latinas to promote leadership and civic engagement. Scott-Harris is a community organizer and educator in Newark for the NJ Environmental Justice Alliance. Ward, the Vice President of Voter Engagement at Democracy Works, specializes in communications and conflict resolution. Williamson, a system engineer, is also New Jersey Counts Project Director for the New Jersey Institute for Social Justice and the New Jersey State Social Action Coordinator of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

“The League of Women Voters of New Jersey is positioned to enter our 100th year as the lead voting rights organization in the state,” said Nancy Hedinger, president. “The depth of knowledge, experience, and diversity on our team provides a foundation to better serve New Jersey’s voters, give our members a more impactful experience, and advocate successfully for policies that move our state forward.”

The newly elected board will join the recently formed advisory council in leading the League of Women Voters of New Jersey. Advisory Council members include Ruthi Byrne, Ronald Chen, Esq., Madeline Ferraro, Esq., Jeannine LaRue, S. Nadia Hussain, James Johnson, Esq., Sandra Matsen, Sara Peña, Michele Tuck-Ponder, and Joan Verplanck.

“The League’s work is being supported and guided by some of the top political, business, and nonprofit leaders in our state,” said Jesse Burns, Executive Director. “Our board and advisory council are a real powerhouse team supporting the League as our membership and influence skyrockets.”

The League of Women Voters of New Jersey, a nonpartisan political organization, works to empower voters and defend democracy. Visit www.lwvnj.org to learn more and to join the organization.

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.